23/07/2021 - 08/08/2021

@wbsc    

Hosted by:   JPN

Softball Olympic Games 2020 - Official Payoff

GameTime Classics Episode 16: Great Britain vs Italy for Olympic softball berth

GameTime Classics Episode 16: Great Britain vs Italy for Olympic softball berth
09/04/2020
WBSC Softball Europe/Africa Tokyo 2020 Olympic Qualifier between Italy and Great Britain, in a winner-take-all game.

A new episode of WBSC's GameTime Classic series will focus on one of the most important games in the recent European softball history: the final of the WBSC Softball Europe/Africa Olympic Qualifier between Italy and Great Britain, in a winner-take-all game. The match was played on 27 July 2019 in Utrecht, the Netherlands.

The WBSC Softball Europe/Africa Olympic Qualifier hosted the top six European nations and the two best countries from Africa, in a 5-day competition to decide the third qualified nation for the Tokyo 2020 Olympics.

Great Britain and Italy met previously in 2019, at the European Softball Championship, with a 7-0 win for the Italians in five innings. Both nations earned their spot in the WBSC Softball Europe/Africa Qualifier as two of the top six European teams.

Both teams clinched key wins on the first day of the Super Round to set up the winner-take-all contest. Greta Cecchetti (ITA) and Georgina Corrick (GBR) took the ball in the decisive match.

This decisive game will be streamed for free at www.youtube.com/wbsc at 9 pm Eastern US Standard Time* on Thursday, 9 April (3 am Central European Time*, 10 am Japan and 11 am Australia Time on Friday, 10 April) and Friday at 9 am Eastern Standard Time* (3:00 pm Central European Time*, 10:00 pm Japan and 11 pm Australia Time) at www.facebook.com/wbsc. *Observing daylight saving time.

The next episode of the WBSC's GameTime Classics will feature Panama and Japan in the 2016 WBSC U-15 Baseball World Cup.


Watch more GameTime Classics:

Episode 15: Watch Australia vs USA in 2019 Premier12 thriller
Episode 14: Re-live the 2018 Junior Men’s Softball World Cup Final between Australia and Japan
Episode 13: Watch Korea vs Panama in 2016 U-23 Baseball World Cup
Episode 12: Mexico, Canada battle to qualify for the Tokyo Olympic softball competition
Episode 11: Watch a semifinal thriller - Canada-Chinese Taipei at the Women's Baseball World Cup 2016
Episode 10: Historic first-ever WBSC U-12 Mixed Softball final between Chinese Taipei and Peru
Episode 9: Watch Korea vs Japan in 2015 Premier12 Semi-Final
Episode 8: Singapore, Argentina open 2020 U-18 Men’s Softball World Cup with a bang
Episode 7: Watch Chinese Taipei and Japan battle in the 2018 Women's Baseball World Cup
Episode 6: JPN vs USA dramatic 2019 U-19 Women’s Softball World Cup final
Episode 5: Re-live Mexico v USA 2019 U-12 Baseball World Cup elimination game
Episode 4: Mexico-New Zealand epic battle at WBSC Men’s Softball World Championship 2019
Episode 2: Re-live the Japan-USA Final of the 2018 WBSC Women’s Softball World Championship
Watch for free: WBSC Baseball, Softball World Cup blockbuster